Board member:

Cllr Shaun Davies

Cllr Shaun Davies

Cllr Davies' alternate on The Marches LEP Board is Cllr Lee Carter. Cllr Shaun Davies has served on The Marches LEP Board since his election as leader of Telford & Wrekin Council in May 2016. He was first elected to Telford and Wrekin Council in 2011 and immediately appointed to the Cabinet.

About Cllr Shaun Davies

Shaun was given the lead on Council transformation to a cooperative council, and his later cabinet roles included Place, and Commercial Projects. Shaun and his team have halved youth unemployment in the area, and spearheaded the Pride in the Community Programme which has improved the roads, footways, and built environment across the wards of Telford & Wrekin. He was elected leader of the Council in May 2016, and since then he has also been instrumental in a number of initiatives to promote the Borough as a place for business and investment, including the Telford Growth Package and Telford Land Deal, which is believed to be the first of its kind in the UK, between the Council and Homes England. Shaun led his Labour administration to its best ever result in May 2019 when his group was returned with a significantly increased majority bucking the regional and national trends.

Shaun is a non-executive director of Wrekin Housing Group and the Marches Local Enterprise Partnership as well being a member of the Local Government Association City Regions Board.

Shaun remains one of the youngest council leaders in the United Kingdom, and is a dynamic and progressive leader with many plans for the future of his Telford and Wrekin Council. Raised and educated in the Borough, Shaun studied law at Aberystwyth University. In addition to his Council work, he lives in Telford with his wife and family.

Cllr Lee Carter acts as Shaun’s alternate on The Marches LEP Board.

Cllr David Wright

Cllr Wright acts as Cllr Shaun Davies’ alternate on The Marches LEP board. Cllr David Wright was elected to Telford & Wrekin Council in 2019 and is the Cabinet member for Economy, Housing, Transport and Infrastructure.

Learn more

The LEP Board

The Marches LEP board includes the leaders of the three local authorities of Herefordshire, Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin as well as the chairs of the regions Business Boards.

Learn more
Back to top arrow
Skip to content