Board member:

Cllr David Wright

Cllr David Wright

Cllr Wright acts as Cllr Shaun Davies' alternate on The Marches LEP board.

About Cllr David Wright

Cllr David Wright was elected to Telford & Wrekin Council in 2019 and is the Cabinet member for Economy, Housing, Transport and Infrastructure. Cllr Wright also sits on two parish councils in the Telford area. He has lived in the Telford area all of his life.

David was Member of Parliament for Telford from 2001 to 2015. He served in the Government and Opposition Whips Office.

Prior to entering parliament he worked in the local authority housing sector. He is also a former member of Wrekin District Council which was the pre-unitary authority in the Telford and Wrekin area.

Following his time in parliament, David was Chief Executive of a regeneration charity in Wolverhampton and then went on to work for the National Trust in the Shropshire area.

In his spare time David enjoys hill walking, watching local football and the occasional pint of real ale.

Cllr Shaun Davies

Cllr Davies’ alternate on the Marches LEP board is Cllr David Wright. Cllr Shaun Davies has served on The Marches LEP board since his election as Leader of Telford & Wrekin Council in May 2016.

Learn more

The LEP Board

The Marches LEP board includes the leaders of the three local authorities of Herefordshire, Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin as well as the chairs of the regions Business Boards.

Learn more
Back to top arrow
Skip to content